Can We Talk About Lana Del Rey’s Album Trailer?

Welcome back, Lana. 
by Mintzy Flor

“In the beginning, there was the sun, nothing but the sun moving through the heavens. Covering the surface of the earth were seas and the seas were turmoil…”

We’ve waited for two years just for this moment. Finally, Lana Del Rey is set to release Norman Fucking Rockwell!, a new album  produced by Jack Antonoff. We can expect the album by August 30 but before that, we’re blessed to have an album trailer. She also posted the 14-song tracklist and the album cover, which was shot by her sister, photographer Chuck Grant. That’s Jack Nicholson’s grandson Duke posing with her on the cover, btw.

The video starts strong with scenery, a muscled man on a surfboard, and hints of new songs “Doin’ Time,” “Mariners Apartment Complex,” “Venice Beach,” and the title track. Summer has a huge impact on the album, as we can see the sea and the sun in almost every frame. Goddamn Man Child–this video is giving us all the feels of sunny California.

In just three minutes and 19 seconds, we are teased into something so pure and ethereal. The songs are melancholy (we already knew that, of course) mixed with semi-feel good lyrics. The video ends with a man’s voice saying, “Well if you come, I’d like to take you with me on such a voyage of the mind.”

Lana’s last album was 2017’s Lust for Life, which featured the songs “God Bless America And All the Beautiful Women In It” and “When the World Was at War We Kept Dancing.” Both are political statements on the current US administration.



Input your search keywords and press Enter.